352 - Help Please To Understand What I've Got

This is a test forum to highlight the best and worst of the CCKWs on the road. It will be HEAVILY MODERATED. If you post a critique, you BETTER have a TM, Part number or Reference to back it up... otherwise it will not be approved. Basically its to discuss running CCKWs and point out the good, bad, and things that need further explored. Since there are so many new CCKW owners hopefully this can become a guide of sorts.

352 - Help Please To Understand What I've Got

Postby Vulture » Thu Oct 13, 2011 12:21 pm

Hi Guys

As I posted recently I’ve recently acquired my CCKW 352 B1. I’m a total novice with regards to CCKWs and I’m looking for some help in trying to understand what I have in my possession. The basic information and what I have been able to glean thus far is as follows:

Chassis No: CCKW352 315834
Model No: CCKW-352 B1
Axle Type: Split
Body Type: Cargo - Metal
Declared Date Of Manufacture: 1944
Production Series: 4th (Apr-43 to Jan 44) (Chassis No: 213652 – 321077)
First Registered in UK: 1 Oct 1989
Winch: Yes
Pioneer Rack: Fitted

Things spotted thus far:
1. Cut-outs in the cargo body uprights.
2. Engine has been a light green at some point.
3. It didn’t come out of the factory as Navy Grey, but has certainly been this colour for at least a decade.
4. Engine side panel on the passenger side has mesh on it.
5. No mount for Oil Can on engine bulkhead.
6. Wipers are electric (and don't work well ! LOL).

If I start posting a series of photos I’m hoping those more knowledgeable than myself can provide comment, which might give me an indication as to who had it after the war, and what bits are missing/wrong on it.

Kind regards

Ian
Vulture

Re: 352 - Help Please To Understand What I've Got

Postby pfarber » Sun Oct 16, 2011 12:11 pm

1. Cut-outs in the cargo body uprights.
This was a late war modification to allow better drainage of water/dirt from jamming the uprights in place. Army Motors article details this.